Keeping It Simple

avocado

Sometimes the best meals are the simplest ones.

I am not a vegetarian, and have no desire to be one, however I do eat a lot of vegetarian and vegan foods, for no other reason than I just enjoy meatless meals. I must admit that when I do cut meat and dairy (especially dairy) from my diet that I physically feel a lot better, and I am aware of the health benefits of a vegetarian diet, but to cut these out completely? I don’t have the willpower or the desire to do that.

About a month ago I made a firm goal for myself to start bringing my lunch to work; for a number of reasons – for one, most days I don’t even have time to actually take a lunch, and eating out all the time is expensive. But most importantly, the selection of eating establishments within reasonable distance from my work is limited to fast food, so obviously the health benefits of bringing lunch to work is exponential.

This is what I had for lunch a few days ago, and in its simplicity, it was one of the tastiest.

Brown Rice with Garlic, Italian Herbs, and Avocado

Ingredients:
-1/2 cup brown rice
-1 1/2 cups water
-1 tbsp butter
-1 – 2 cloves garlic, minced (or if you are in a hurry, a sprinkling of garlic powder works fine)
-dried basil, dried oregano, dried parsley or just an Italian Spice blend
-1 avocado
-salt and pepper

There is really no recipe to this meal. I cooked the brown rice with 1 1/2 cups of water, fluffed it with a fork, and then added a tbsp (give or take) of butter and mixed it in while the rice was still warm. Then I added the garlic and herbs to taste. When lunchtime rolled around at work, I chopped up an avocado while waiting for the rice to re-heat in the microwave, and added it to the rice along with a sprinkling of salt and pepper.

Amazeballs.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Keeping It Simple

  1. This looks so good. I love avocado, but have not had it in this type of dish! It’s on my list to try now :)

Leave a Reply

