Valentine’s Day Cupcakes

February is a busy month for Cupcakes on the Vine– I have 2 baby showers and 1 bridal shower order, all on consecutive weekends. But I’m definitely not complaining; yes the extra cash is great, but occasions like these are why I started my side cupcake business in the first place. As an artist, who works full time and happens to love food, cupcakes have been a great creative outlet. So February is turning out to be a wealthy month, both financially and creatively.

February also means… Valentine’s Day.

Valentine’s Day has always been a pointless occasion to me. And nooooo, I know what you’re probably thinking, “this stupid bitch is probably just single and bitter.” And while that may be true, it’s not the reason for my meh attitude towards the “holiday.” I just think it’s pointless, plain and simple (and don’t even get me started on “Sweetest Day,” which is a load of crap and just Valentine’s Day 2.0. As if you didn’t give your sweetheart enough chocolate, roses, champagne and/or sex on February 14th OR your anniversary).

heartcupcakes

HOWEVER, as a baker, I still get inspired by the colors and motifs surrounding the day that makes us single ladies (and gents) look like fools.

Enter Pinterest– another single woman’s nightmare as half of my feed is filled to the brim with wedding-related pins. Sort of like my relationships with Facebook, Twitter, and other social-media extravaganzas, I initially avoided Pinterest like the plague. But as my cupcake business started booming I realized that perhaps it would be a good resource. And it was. But I became hooked. I now have like 5 or 6 different boards for my various interests.

One awesome pin that I found, that I now cannot seem to find, had to do with the dreaded V-word. Heart shaped cupcakes in all their saccharine-sweet, ridiculously trite glory!

But I would be lying if I said they weren’t totally fucking cute.
batterThe technique is incredibly simple, even for all you non-domestics who still regard the kitchen as foreign, unfriendly territory. You line your cupcake pans with your baking cups, and then place a marble in between the liner and the pan, as shown above. Then using your favorite cupcake recipe (or boxed cake mix), fill the baking cups and bake as normal. Be sure to only fill the cups halfway, as an overflow of the batter will not only make the hearts look retarded, but you’ll have quite a mess.

To be honest I was skeptical, as the cupcakes themselves, once baked, looked like either a fat, angry Pacman or a fortune cookie. It really comes down to the decorating- I used my favorite cream cheese frosting recipe and piped a heart shape onto the cupcakes using my Wilton #12 tip. And voila! Heart-shaped cupcakes to share with your sweetheart (or to stuff your own face with as you watch old rom-coms and cry over your loneliness).

If you’re still confused by my vague, non-recipe post, do yourself a favor and head on over to Youtube and watch this step-by-step video of the heartcake making process!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hYOl6W2ZcHY

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

