“The Dude” White Russian Cupcakes

 

Happy New Year’s Eve! Tonight I’m going to a house party, and I was charged with providing the dessert- cupcakes, of course. And I knew I wanted to make boozey, knock-you-on-your-ass cupcakes.
479929_10101243847376914_138255558_nBeing a baker, specifically cupcakes, naturally I’ve been drawn to Cupcake Vineyards wine, particularly their Red Velvet. So when I heard they were coming out with their own brand of vodka, I knew I had to incorporate this into a cupcake somehow. On impulse I bought the Frosting flavored vodka- cupcakes… frosting… makes sense right?

735033_10101243727776594_1918949465_n

Now, I’m a big wine drinker, but I’ve never been much of an anything-else drinker, so when it came time to decide on what flavor profile I wanted for this cupcake I drew a blank. And then it hit me- White Russian cupcakes!

I pulled from a few different recipes for the cupcakes and frosting, and decided on White Russian cupcakes baked with vodka and kahlúa, filled with vodka whipped cream and topped with a kahlúa cream cheese frosting. The original frosting recipe called for mascarpone cheese instead of cream cheese, but I forgot to pick some up and did not feel like going back out to the store when regular cream cheese would suffice. I’m sure these would have tasted great with mascarpone but the tang of the cream cheese suited the kahlúa perfectly. I also added butter and more powdered sugar than the recipe calls for because I was afraid I wouldn’t have enough frosting for all 12 cupcakes. And I was right!

Definitely Big Lebowski- appropriate. These babies are boozey!

The Dude’s White Russian Cupcakes: (loosely adapted by/ inspired by C&C Cakery)

For the cupcakes

Ingredients:
– 1/2 stick of unsalted butter, softened
– 3/4 c sugar
– 1 egg plus 2 egg whites
– 1/4 c vegetable or canola oil
– 1/3 c sour cream
– 2 tsp vanilla extract (try to obtain Madagascar bourbon vanilla, you won’t be sorry)
– 2 c cake flour, sifted
– 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/3 c vodka
– 1/3 c kahlúa

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and prepare a cupcake pan with paper liners. In a medium bowl or the bowl of your stand mixer, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg and egg whites, oil, sour cream, and vanilla and beat until combined.

2. In a separate bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add half of the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and beat until just combined, followed by the vodka. Add the rest of the dry ingredients, followed by the kahlúa. Mix until just combined.

3. Spoon batter into your cupcake liners, about 2/3 of the way full. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Allow cupcakes to cool completely before filling and frosting.

318595_10101243861922764_1643123169_n

For the filling

Ingredients:
– 1/2 c heavy whipping cream
– powdered sugar, to taste (about 6 tsp)
– vodka, to taste (I used 3 tsp)

1. In your stand mixer, whip up your heavy whipping cream and powdered sugar until just beginning to firm. Add your vodka, one teaspoon at a time, with your mixer on high. Continue beating until soft peaks start to form and your whipped cream is done. Fill each cooled cupcake with about a tablespoon of whipped cream (I use the cone method, but feel free to use an apple corer- however you normally hollow out your cupcakes for fillings).

Kahlúa Cream Cheese Frosting (adapted from BakerStreet)

Ingredients:
– 8 oz cream cheese, softened
– 1 stick butter
– 3 c powdered sugar
– 1/4 c kahlúa

1. In a medium bowl, combine the cream cheese, butter, and powdered sugar and beat until smooth. Add the kahlúa and beat at medium speed until fluffy. Makes enough to frost 12 cupcakes, plus enough left over to just eat directly from the bowl with a spoon.

47695_10101243861388834_300109643_nCurrently Spinning: Sleigh Bells “Reign of Terror”

 

 

Tagged

5 thoughts on ““The Dude” White Russian Cupcakes

  1. lucyloohoo says:

    These look delicious! And so nicely decorated :)

  2. Kristin says:

    I was disappointed in the taste of this vodka (by itself), so I’ve been wondering what to do with it — this is perfect!

    • grrremily says:

      I’m not a vodka fan myself (and to be honest I can’t stand white russians) but the flavors worked perfectly in a cupcake. I hope you make them and enjoy them as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

